Accrington Cricket Club

Accrington 53, Nelson 162
June 1981

Accrington 1981
Accrington 1st XI 1981
©Stephen Blunt

A Kapil Dev inspired Nelson left Thorneyholme Road with a 109 run win over Accrington. After losing opener Richard Vaughton to Neil Jones before a run had been scored, Ian Clarkson and Dev put on 88 for the league leaders before the opener was bowled by Ian Birtwistle (5-47) for 42. The Indian all rounder was next to go at 109 after being stumped by Paul Graham off his opposite number David Stead (4-55) for 68. Stead next had skipper Chris Hartley caught by Geoff Hayhurst for 3 at 128. David Reeves made 27 before being stumped by Graham off Birtwistle at 131. Ken Varley (2) fell to the same bowler without addition. One run later Birtwistle had Milton Lord caught by Stead without scoring. Stead picked up Peter Varley (0) and Steve Calderbank (2) with Birtwistle polishing off the innings by removing Pat Calderbank (9), leaving wicketkeeper Alan Haigh unbeaten on 5 as Nelson were bowled out for 162. Accrington's reply got off to the worst possible start with both openers back in the dressing room before a run had been scored. Dev had Graham Beech caught by Reeves and then Pat Calderbank clean bowled Hayhurst. Stead was run out for 16. Calderbank (5-18) also sent back Mark Aspin (0), Peter West (5), Jones (10) and Graham (0) with Dev (4-31) accounting for skipper Alan Richardson (0), Trevor Hatch (17) and Ray Haworth (4) leaving Birtwistle unbeaten on 1 when Accrington were bowled out for just 53. Accrington moved up one place in the table to ninth after 12 games due to picking up the bowling bonus point. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1981 please email Nigel Stockley