Accrington Cricket Club

Nelson 152-2, Accrington 148-6
June 1981

Accrington 1981
Accrington 1st XI 1981
©Stephen Blunt

League leaders Nelson did the double over Accrington after cruising to an 8 wicket win at Seedhill. Graham Beech top scored with a fine 61 in Accrington's 148-6. Nelson professional Kapil Dev struck early again by trapping opener Geoff Hayhurst in front without scoring at 3. Steve Calderbank removed Accrington professional David Stead (14) at 20. Pat Calderbank had the promoted Neil Jones (21) stumped by Haigh at 56. Beech and Trevor Hatch (20) put on 60 for the 4th wicket but Calderbank senior clean bowled Hatch and Dev had Beech caught by Milton Lord. Skipper Alan Richardson hit an unbeaten 27, losing Ray Haworth (1) at 123 but dominating an unbroken 7th wicket stand of 25 with Glen Dickenson who was unbeaten on 1 on his senior debut. Nelson opener Richard Vaughton (25) and Ian Clarkson (38) put on 64 before falling to Ian Birtwistle and Stead respectively leaving Dev to help himself to an unbeaten 69, adding an unbroken 66 with Reeves (10 not out) to take Nelson to victory with almost 10 overs to spare. Accrington dropped down one place to tenth at the halfway point in the season. Scorecard

If you have any memories of 1981 please email Nigel Stockley